Companion of the Worship Arts

Do you know someone that contributes substantially to the worship life of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC)? Do they give of their time and talents locally, synodically and nationally? Consider nominating them for the 2018 Companion of the Worship Arts award.

On behalf of ELCIC National Bishop Susan C. Johnson, the Program Committee for Worship (PCW) is now accepting nominations for the Companion of the Worship Arts Award. This honour is conferred upon a recipient biennially, highlighting the individual’s ongoing work and service within worship life of the ELCIC. The distinction recognizes the recipient’s ongoing inspiration and encouragement to others, together with service to God through worship, spirituality, and the arts.

The award will be presented to the at the National Worship Conference (NWC) in Victoria, B.C. in 2018. (Visit: for more details on the NWC). Current PCW members are not eligible for nomination.

Submit your nomination today!

Please include these supporting materials with your nomination:

  1. Reasons for the nomination; i.e., biographical material with a listing of the person’s specific contributions to the worship life of the ELCIC (examples should include national, synodical, and local involvements).
  2. An indication, with examples, of the ways the person continues to inspire and encourage others in the worship life of the church.
  3. A minimum of three letters of support for the nomination from others familiar with the individual’s contributions.

Send nomination materials in by February 15th, 2018 to:

Kathryn Smith
8 Jodi Place
Guelph, ON N1H 7R1

The Companion of the Worship Arts Medal

The Companion of the Worship Arts medal was commissioned in 1995 by the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada. It is the work of acclaimed artist, the Rev. Michael Mills, OSA, CWA. The image on the obverse is entitled “The Dance”. The reverse bears the name of the recipient and the year.

Companion of the Worship Arts Laureates

1996 – Paul F. Bosch, Waterloo, Ontario
1998 – Donald Johnson, North Vancouver, British Columbia
2000 – Margaret Harms, Calgary Alberta
2002 – Michael Mills, Toronto, Ontario
2004 – Eduard Riegert, Waterloo, Ontario
2005 – Elaine Nelson, Medicine Hat, Alberta
2006 – Debbie Lou Ludolph, Waterloo, Ontario
2008 – Karen Johnson-Lefsrud, Victoria, British Columbia
2010 – Robyn Simpson-Mohr, Camrose, Alberta
2012 – Jann E. Boyd, Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
2014 – Joy Berg, Edmonton, Alberta (ELCIC) and Graham Cotter, Warkworth, Ontario (ACC)